Hawks' Bey, Wizards' Morris, NBA veterans Gibson and McGruder to coach top prospects at Basketball Without Borders Asia

Published May 31, 2023, 1:00 PMOfficial release

The 13th BWB Asia Camp will bring together 80 of the top high-school-age prospects from more than 20 countries across Asia and the Middle East.

The National Basketball Association (NBA), the International Basketball Federation (FIBA) and the Department of Culture and Tourism – Abu Dhabi (DCT Abu Dhabi) today announced 80 of the top high-school-age prospects from more than 20 countries who will travel to Abu Dhabi for the 13th edition of Basketball Without Borders (BWB) Asia, which will be held Friday, June 2 – Monday, June 5 at the New York University campus in Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates (UAE). 

BWB Asia 2023 will bring together 40 boys and 40 girls from across Asia and the Middle East to compete alongside their peers and learn directly from current and former NBA players and coaches.  The campers will be coached by current NBA players Saddiq Bey (Atlanta Hawks) and Monte Morris (Washington Wizards), and NBA veterans Taj Gibson (most recently with the Washington Wizards) and Rodney McGruder (most recently with the Detroit Pistons).  NBA assistant coaches John Bryant (Chicago Bulls), Ryan Forehan-Kelly (Brooklyn Nets), Ryan Richman (Wizards), Sean Sweeney (Dallas Mavericks) and Mike Weinar (Indiana Pacers) will also serve as BWB Asia coaches, while Nina Hsieh (Charlotte Hornets) will serve as the camp’s athletic trainer.

NBA players and coaches will lead the BWB campers through a variety of activities, including movement efficiency drills, offensive and defensive skill stations, three-point contests, 5-on-5 games, and life skills and leadership development sessions.  BWB Asia 2023 coaches and members of the NBA’s Referee Operations department will lead development clinics for local coaches and referees throughout the week.  A ceremony on the final day of the camp will award the Kim Bohuny Camp MVP, the Patrick Baumann Sportsmanship Award, the Three-Point Champion Presented by Experience Abu Dhabi and the Defensive MVP to the boys and girls who distinguish themselves on the court and as leaders.

BWB Asia 2023 will be supported by Nike, a global partner of BWB since 2002, which will outfit participants with Nike apparel and footwear, and Gatorade, which will keep players and coaches hydrated throughout the camp.

BWB, the NBA and FIBA’s global basketball development and community outreach program, has reached more than 3,900 participants from 134 countries and territories since 2001, with 106 former campers advancing to the NBA or WNBA.  The NBA and FIBA have staged 66 BWB camps in 43 cities across 31 countries on six continents.

In conjunction with BWB Asia 2023, a Jr. NBA Abu Dhabi Elite Camp will also be held at the New York University campus in Abu Dhabi from June 2 – Sunday, June 4.  The camp will bring together 40 of the top boys and girls ages 15 and under from the Jr. NBA Abu Dhabi League to participate in fundamental skill development and 5-on-5 competition. 

The following is a complete list of players participating in the 13th BWB Asia camp

(rosters subject to change):




Aanaya Bhavsar

Adelya Mustafina

Amy Pateman

Bolor-Erdene Battsooj

Denise Choo Syn Ee

Elise Gilbert

Erica Ng Mun

Hyun Jeong

Jessylne Jaya Wiyanto

Jing Zhang

Kamila Urmambetova

Kanon Suzuki

Karen Hoteit

Karina Kadyrova

Kavanah Lene

Komalpreet Kaur

Lower Ler Yee

Matilda Lai Hor Ying

Megan Lim Shu Yam

Minji Lee

Monique Bobongie

Muskan Singh

Nadar Kaur Dhillon

Nandinkhusel Nyamjav

Nurailym Jumakulova

Olivia Lassey

Pattanamon Pattanauckkaranon

Rebecca Moors

Sahira Balyan

Sakura Horiuchi

Sarah Portlock

Sienna Harvey

Sophie Brennan

Teyahna Bond

Torie Rapadas

Wang Yihui

Wei Shih Yun

Woranistha Sangareun

Yeseul Choi

Yuqian Li



Abdallah Shatat

Alan Karchin

Anthony Naba

Apl Mcandrei Andy Gemao

Carter Hopoi

Charles Dimmock

Emmett Adair

En-Yu Lin

Feilong Zhang

Fengwei Guo

Hamad Mousa

Hassan Ibrahim Alshaiba

Hyeokjun Jang

Irmuun Erdenetsogt

Jacob Furphy

Jelomar Rota

Jeonghyun Kim

Julius Halaifonua

Kahuranaki Treacher

Karl Zamatta

Karl Dahlen Phua

Lawrence Yasuo Rudolph

Maper Maker Makur

Marcell Syahlevi Putera

Mohammad Ishan

Mohammad Heydari

Mohammed Al Raisi

Pedram Fallah

Radin Alizadeh

Roman Siulepa

Roman Baibolov

Ruiyan Cong

Ryan Hunt

Seungchae Gu

Shiyang Shen

Soheil Karimi

Tamatoa Isaac

Teruchika Naito

Yu-Chen Lee

Yuto Imanishi